kelp meal, fish meal, alfalfa meal?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by starcecil, Jun 22, 2012.

1. #1 starcecil, Jun 22, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2012
    So I'm kind of new to growing wheat grass but have opted for growing it on a cocomat as I've had previous success with other plants using the coco fibers that come compressed in bricks.

I have some Gempler Compost Maker which lists the ingredients as kelp meal, fish meal, alfalfa meal. could this work? temporarily. Compost Maker - GEMPLER'S I've read most people who grow wheat grass opt for a kelp meal or kelp extractive.

I have some Fox Farms Grow Big and Tiger Bloom which claims to have trace minerals however I don't think it's organic. I'm kind of a noob in general to gardening and don't know if the grow big could work in the mean time. I was thinking in a really diluted solution i'd soak the mat in or water with

Any tips or advice is much appreciated.

2. [quote name='"starcecil"']So I'm kind of new to growing wheat grass but have opted for growing it on a cocomat as I've had previous success with other plants using the coco fibers that come compressed in bricks.

I have some Gempler Compost Maker which lists the ingredients as kelp meal, fish meal, alfalfa meal. could this work? temporarily. Compost Maker - GEMPLER'S I've read most people who grow wheat grass opt for a kelp meal or kelp extractive.

I have some Fox Farms Grow Big and Tiger Bloom which claims to have trace minerals however I don't think it's organic. I'm kind of a noob in general to gardening and don't know if the grow big could work in the mean time. I was thinking in a really diluted solution i'd soak the mat in or water with

Any tips or advice is much appreciated.[/quote]

Tiger bloom no, way to much salt.

And honestly meng id mix that coco with some peat moss. You want a good CeC, and peats is better then coco.