just the basics

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by katebtr, Jan 10, 2015.

1. Hello all. I want to start my first grow soon, but I don't feel anywhere near ready. I have been researching for a few months, reading a lot of threads on here, and a few books, but I feel like I haven't retained a lot of the info. I feel overwhelmed with all the info I have taken in, so I was wondering if some kindly grasscityers could give me a rundown, and/or links to everything you think is necessary to know before a grow. Just a list would be ok; I can find the info if I need to. I know a lot of what I learn will be hands-on, and I think I just need to start soon.
    I plan to use a good quality LED, probably hydroponic, though I have heard soil is more forgiving for beginners. Still deciding on a strain/bank, but it will be some sort of indica or hybrid, since virtually all sources say sativa grows suck indoors. 
    Thank you everyone in advance. I want to be well-researched, but it's tough to sort out the small nuances from the necessities when you don't know anyone in real life that does this, and can't even ask for fear of the stigma and unjust consequences. 

2. Calm down young Blade.  Just start growing and you figure most things out.  Don't use Miracle Grow for anything.  Soil is a better starting point IMO.  I mix my own dirt and have never had any issues with it, but that is me.  Some people buy the Fox Farms soil, but have issue with germinating in it being too "hot".  

The best thing you can do is just start growing and ask questions when things come up.  It's kinda like planning for the weather 3 weeks out, it's a little tough to do.  Good luck and welcome.

3. That's a lot of info for someone to type up, especially when its already written in the stickies how to grow pretty much start to finish. Maybe if you ask more specific questions in the areas where you're confused, you might get more help.