Its it possible to clone a flowering plant?

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by tinman87, Jul 2, 2015.

1. Let's say I have a good strain I wanna keep going its been broken in half and the top 4 buds aren't doing anything really while the bottom buds seem to swell. can I root the top?

2. Sure. Hit it with some cloning gel and throw it in whatever you use to clone. It will more than likely root up real nice. You'll have to give it some time to revert back to veg, but it can be done. TWW

3. Thanks man what do u recommend I'm new to cloning
    Prolly use a potato tho

4. you can definitely take cuts from a flowering plant last time I took cuts like 10 days into flower. Ive only used rootech as far as cloning gel goes but it works well. last batch I had 100% with just root riots, a humidity dome, rootech and a 24 w cfl.

5. Ive heard u can take clones up to 3 weeks into flower, is a technique called monster cropping. supposedly after they revert back to veg they bush out better. never done it myself have read about it tho.

6. I did this with my last grow when my plant was about 3 weeks- 4 weeks in flowering after I snapped a cola off on accident. I figured why not make a clone out of it and see what happens?!?! And just like ray83man said it was a lot more bushy than the flowering plant it came off of.
    But why the hell not try it? Worse that will happen is you lose a clone and gain experience from it!!
    good luck and keep us updated!!

7. i just clipped and started a clone from my mammoth, i hear it takes longer to root. but ill keep u guys updated. i ground up a bunch of jiffy pucks for a medium best i could think of to clone in cheaply lol i nipped the top of the bud, maybe a bad idea. but nipping the leaves stops their growth so.....thought it might stop the bud growth. PIc has the clone and a random free seed i got from ordering from nirvana. gonna race them lol

Attached Files:

• rvnr.jpg
      rvnr.jpg
      File size: