Iso Purging Advice

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by impactfour, Feb 12, 2014.

1. Hi all, I've been running iso for a few years now, and wanted a little advice on my method.

I'm going to be running an ounce of kief.

Prep: it will be frozen in a jar for a few days before hand. I purchase 91 % iso, then oversaturate the 9% that is water with nacl (table salt), then filter out the salt, and the water which is attached to the salt, this isopropyl is frozen along with the kief. 

Processing: cover the kief in it's still frozen far with iso, gently stir for about 15 second, then I pour the solution into my tube, with 4 unbleached coffee filters on the other end, attach bike pump, I blast this into a coffee strainer, which also has 4 unbleached coffee filters resting in it, under this is another jar. I recollect what is caught in each set of filters, and re wash a second and third time, I put this all together, as the chlorophyll and unwanted byproducts are taken out by the next step. 

'Polishing': I then measure how much solution of iso and kief/thc i have, and make it 3.5% water by volume, this water will attract lipids, cholorphyll, and other unwanted byproducts, without drawing thc from my iso. After letting the water collect unwanted materials for a little, I freeze the qwiso and water solution, and simply wait to remove the water, and unwanted materials.

refiltering: I then repeat the processing steps, using the bike pump, tube and strainer with 6 coffee filters on each, while the solution is still frozen.

Now, I like my method up to here, and historically, it has worked great, but I'm looking to create a more solid hash, something like shatter rather than oil. I typically wait and whip my product once all the iso has evaporated.