Is this what I would need for my 70watt HPS?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by MushuHappiness, Sep 11, 2007.

1. I'm planning a micro grow inside a PC case, and i've been taking a look at lighting and what not, and I figured i'm going to go with a 70watt HPS with a glass heatshield cooled with PC fans(case is big enough for it).

I'm a total noob at this stuff and was wondering if this is the kind of ballast I will need. Will I be able to just install this in my case, throw the lightbulb on it and go?

ballast - http://www.e-conolight.com/Product/EProductDetail.asp?FGNumber=E-BLH071
    lightbulb - http://www.e-conolight.com/Product/EProductDetail.asp?ProductFamilyID=22&FGNumber=~HP070M

Now i also heard that theres a hybrid MH bulb that would be able to plug into your HPS light? Where can I find those?

2. I'm trying to imagine a 70 watt HPS lamp in a tower case. I have a hard time keeping my plant trained down inside my grow box that is over twice as large as a pc case. Have you considered using mini-spiral compact fluorescent lights? You get a lot of light with minimal heat.

3. The link for the ballast didn't work, but I found it on the site anyways.

Should work, I would say heat is going to be a serious problem, your most likely going to need some serious fans to cool that tower. Mylar the insides properly, maybe even make a reflector for that light to focus the light.

4. I actually have considered using CFLs... 2 27watt Air purifiers from 1000bulbs
    http://www.1000bulbs.com/product.php?product=9136

I realize I also need to find something for veg cycle as those only use 2700k of the spectrum.(Don't I:confused: ) Or can I use these for Veg and flower