Is this salt buildup? Help

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Fliiix, Dec 5, 2021.

1. Hello, so this is my first time growing with DWC, so I ran my system with fresh water for about 48 hours without problem, yesterday I tried to lower my pH down with GHE down and got it down to about 6.4 and a couple of hours later it went back up to 8.0, and today when I checked my 20 pots all of them having this white stuff in it, I had no idea what it was first but after some research I think it's salt buildup but I'm not sure,

Luckily my plant's haven't got enough root yet, but can anyone here tell me what this is and how do I get rid of it? Does it harm my plants?

[​IMG] [​IMG]

• Like Like x 1
  2. What is your source water? RO, tap, what is the starting ec/ppm ?

• Like Like x 2
  3. I'm not sure what I'm looking at, but it is making me uncomfortable... :bolt:

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. tap water, my pH/PPM and EC in my system is currently: pH 8.5 / ppm 213 / ec 0.44
    and the starting pH/PPM and EC are pH 7.9 / ppm 218 / ec 0.49

I bought a RO from GrowMax but I have not received it yet.

• Like Like x 1
  5. I have what sounds like the same issue with my tap water. I have not completely wrapped my head around the answer has something to do with water hardness/calcium, it's a pretty deep rabbit hole. Lol
    Just get that Ro filter installed and you'll leave this problem behind.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Okay, so the problem got fixed for you when using a RO filter?
    But the question is, how the heck do I get all this shit out of my system? It would be easy if I only had like 4-5 pots, but I'm running a system with 20 pots and all of them have this in it, and I guess it's in all my lines also.

Does anyone know if there is anything I can put in my water to get rid of it?

7. IDK what I'm looking at. Are those little hard white balls kinda in the water?
    Do you every change the water out like you are supposed to?