Is this just old seeds, or some other seedling issue?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Misanthropevet, Jan 23, 2023.

1. Wondering if anyone can give some insight into one of my particular gelatos that looks really funky, broke ground over the weekend.
    20230123_072115.jpg

Hard to see in the pic, but the cotyledons are brown with white spots, looks unhealthy as hell. I have no idea how old these seeds are, but about half of these seeds I started never opened and about 10% were cracked and crushable upon opening the pack.

I feel like I was sold some super old or otherwise improperly stored seeds, but besides that, any ideas on this ugly little girl? Fearing mold I already removed her from the rest and shes chilling by herself.

Here she is compared to another photo strain (cheap 2 for 1 ILGM seed on the left cube) both germed on the same day in the same conditions. I'm no pro, but I've got a few years of growing under my belt and have never had such a low germ rate than with this batch of seeds.
    upload_2023-1-23_8-19-44.png

Is it something the seedling will just grow out of as she gets bigger, or something else I should be concerned about? This is not an isolated event, over 8 seeds from that pack have either failed to open, or come out super slow and sickly looking like the photos.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

• Like Like x 3
  2. I'll give everything that early a fair chance to show me their worth. Soon enough at 3 inches or less I'll have decided if it's worth the space it takes or not. I've had plenty of slow starters get up and go.
    BNW

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. ILGM is probably your problem. A few more reputable banks I can think of are jbc seeds, dc seed exchange, and great lakes genetics.

• Informative Informative x 1