Is this grow setup ok?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by sparklebong, Dec 30, 2012.

1. Hey, :)
    this is my first time growing. I've been trading a lot about it but nothing beats direct advice from people with experience. Do you think my grow setup is alright for growing? Cardboard box lined with foil. 3 holes in the side with a fan ventilating through. Miracle grow moisture control soil. Self watering pot. A 24w led strip and a 13w fluorescent worklight. On 24/7. Plant is 1 week old.
    I'd appreciate any advice! Especially on how to make sure I only grow females. How can I be sure the seed is female?
    Thank you. :)

2. #2 sparklebong, Dec 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2012
  3. Well... if you'd been reading a lot you'd know the following:

- Not to use cardboard, it burns easily.

- Not to use foil, it reflects light poorly, creates hotspots, and reflects heat

- It has to be light proof

- You will need odor control

- Miracle grow soil on seedlings is probably just going to kill it. It's too hot of a soil.

4. I had been reading alot There's so much though! Some people I've read about used miracle gro the whole time with great results so I think I'll stick to that for now. But I'm thinking of getting a metal shelf rack. And how is thermal reflectors (I.e. stuff on thermal blankets )? I can't seem to find a straight answer about how many Watts to use for 1 plant. Luckily I don't have to worry about smell. I live in Alaska. You can legally have up to 25 plants.

5. Your grow will only be as strong as your weakest link and honestly, it's the soil.

IMO, soil is the most important part of your grow. You can maximize whatever lighting you're using, whether it's 1kw or 100w, HPS or CFL, it can be maxed out, but ONLY if your soil is built properly. A shitty soil will decimate your efforts no matter what kind of lighting you have. Since your lighting is low-end to begin with wouldn't you want to max it out?