Is there an advantage to a chillum over a small spoon?

Discussion in 'Smoking Pipes, Glass Spoon Pipes' started by tubro, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Title says it all really. I'm about to go an a vacation where I'll be doing a lot of stealth smoking. I plan on taking my spoon which is pretty small, about the size of a Bic lighter. I'm wondering if i should buy a chillum though. I've never used one before, and I wonder if it would be better than my spoon. Any thoughts?

2. I personally perfer a chillum. They are usually smaller depending upon each of course, but they fit better in my pocket and just seam more convenient than a spoon to me.

3. If you want a small piece for small bowls, a chillum might be what you want. I think that small spoons are much stealthier though than a chillum of the same size. Maintaining a cherry and the actual act of smoking is a lot easier and concealable with a standard bowl.

4. I disagree with the above poster. Chillums are easier to conceal, and a lot of the time come with a larger bowl than a spoon of comparable size. I think they're smoother than dry spoons, as well.

That said, if you already own a small spoon, it might not be worth it to buy one.

5. who the hell wants to cock there head back to keep the bowl in place.. chillums are retarted in my eyes.. im cool with a nice spoon.. plus i never smoked out of a chillum that didnt leave me with an ass full of ash in my mouth.. dosnt seem to easy to hide when your tryin to smoke out of a chillum if you ask me

6. I get almost no ash from my chillum, versus a mouthful on the last hit of every other dry piece i've ever smoked. and i don't hold my head any different, either.

have you ever smoked a chillum?