Is it too late to top?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by djwaco41, Apr 22, 2011.

1. I'm a newbie to growing and just learned about topping. I think its going pretty well so far but, was wondering if its too late to "top" my plant. She is a little over 2 months old and was wondering what I should be doing at this stage (topping, light, newts?)

Attached Files:

2. from you're picture I'm going to guess you are still vegging? you are fine to still top, but depending on what you are using you light I would consider switching over to flower soon or it could easily get too big for your light.

if you give me some more info on your setup and what you've been doing so far I'll happily offer some more suggestions.

3. You could top it. As star said make sure you have a big enough light to flower. Had some girls that were about 18 to 20 inches. When I surged to flower didn't have enough pots to xplant. There now 5 ft tall and have another five weeks left.

4. I would personally just cut the middle stem down to where the other 4 or so lower stems start. That's what I've done with all my plants. That way, instead of just one cola, there will be 4. Plus the plant will be shorter which makes adjusting lights and having the space for a mature plant a little easier on the grower.

5. #5 djwaco41, Apr 23, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2011
    Well to start this is just a bag seed. I planted it as a joke. I'm using miracle grow soil with nothing extra. The light is a 150w florescent. And thats about it. I'm not doing anything else as far as newts or extras.........let me know if I should be lol........she is 2 ft tall btw....

6. Yeah, you definitely need nutrients and a better light, are you vegging or flowering?

7. I'm still vegging. What nutrients should I use? and when I top it how far down should I go?
    And what lights should I add? Thanks again for your help btw!