is air pruning via smart pot, permanent?

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by CosmonautKing, Jun 19, 2018.

1. hey guys and gals of the forum. question here, honestly im going to start researching and reading about it now, but i figured id toss it out in hopes of some feedback while im studying.
    since taproots are a lifeblood of a seeded plant, and clones only grow secondary roots. which technically isnt a bad thing via nutrient uptake. for purposes of anchoring, shock, stability, and maximizing your plants ability to feed itself, maintaining that original taproot or the original few secondaries a clone grows, is extremely crucial. if a taproot reaches oxygen and dries out (which is fast) it will die and grow secondary roots from the tip, and so on and so fourth. making maintenance especially crucial.
    unless you fan and plant/anchor the roots into the top inch of a smaller pot, in early stages of life. it honestly only takes a few days for the taproot to reach the bottom holes, peep out and die.... this means for most of us, just shortly after birth, we kill the main root, and by the time we transplant our plant is no longer extending its taproot throughout the pot, only newly developed secondaries, thus effecting EVERYTHING.