Inverted tote cfl grow box questions

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Puffin, Apr 13, 2016.

1. Hi,

I'm totally new at growing and am currently building a grow box with two runbermaid totes. It will be about 9 cubic feet and I plan on growing 2 plants. I was thinking of using 8 cfl bulbs (100w equivalent each.. So I think 26w actual each? 1600 lumens each). I also have a string of cool white led Christmas icicle lights I thought might be good for side lighting.

First of all.. Does this lighting arrangement seem ok? Too much? Too little? (i can't fit more...)

I also have a fan that I was planning to use as an exhaust but now I'm worried it isn't strong enough and I'm not sure I can return it. The fan strength is 26 cfm. Is that sufficient for a small grow box like mine? If not.. I was planning on doing a passive intake but if that fan isn't sufficient for an exhaust can I use it as an intake and maybe also have an additional passive intake (since the exhaust fan in that case would be more powerful). What are your thoughts? The area it will be is in a kind of cold basement.

Also, I have already decided that cfls and totes are what I want to use l, so I'm not interested in debating that!
    I have some pictures of what I have started so far but can't upload them right now.

Thanks!

2. Pictures of one of the tote with mylar lining, the two totes stacked, and 4 of the 8 lights

Attached Files:

3. My best suggestion is one plant and use a scrog net. Buy a better fan one intake one outake.. I understand you gotta use what you got and I'm all about being resourceful. I started off with CFL grow and it didn't work as well as I thought. I went led no problems now.

Sent from my SM-G530T1 using Grasscity Forum mobile app

4. You can even veg and flower with warm and cool white spec. It only depends on how long the light is on.