Internship in (Medical) Marijuana? Help!

Discussion in 'General' started by Round Two, Mar 24, 2013.

1. Here's my situation...

I'm a sophomore/rising junior majoring in accounting with a cognate in finance and the end goal of owning my own dispensary/manufacturing business knowing both the industry and the business sides.

I wanted to spend the summer experiencing something new and I've been wanting to explore California first-hand, so I thought maybe I could learn and make enough to live on by getting an internship in the cannabis field. I thought there may be accounting firms that specialize in auditing dispensaries/manufacturers? Or that I might be able to find somewhere to be useful in a dispensary large enough to need an intern?

I've emailed the NC NORML chapter who sent me to a couple dispensaries (including Harborside). I emailed them and have since been sent to the ASA, whom I emailed a few minutes ago. So I'm kinda in the middle of my wild goose chase and looking for some advice.

If any of you blades know of somewhere/someone to talk to, or happen to be involved in the field and in need of an accounting intern, please let me know!

I have spent the past 4 years working at the local nursery and garden center learning about horticulture. I have spent innumerable hours researching the plant from seed to harvest, legal issues, business opportunities... I am determined to make a positive mark in the industry, and would love some help getting the ball rolling!

Thank you so much for your time, and I appreciate and info/advice you have to offer!

2. Your best bet is to know someone in the industry. The cannabis industry is very much about who, not what you know. Specially here in Cali , it's already pretty much filled.