Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Indoor Grow Light Questions

Discussion in 'Apprentice Marijuana Consumption' started by HippieShay, Feb 13, 2014.

1. Hello all! This is my first time-grow and I want to keep it small and simple. I've saved up several seeds from some reggie and hydro buys and have been growing out my babies for a few weeks now. They've been living on my window sill, so all the light they're receiving is the suns natural rays. I need to pull them away from the window soon as they are getting a lil too tall (6inches+). I need to get them to a light source for a measured amount of time (preferably 24 hours while in the veg stage), but need some help deciding on a good light source. I plan to move them into my closet. So would a battery-operated LED light strip fixed up in my closet work for a good grow light or would it not be powerful enough? I just dont want to burn my place down on a f*cking grow light lol 

So my real questions are:

1. What would be safest for a small closet grow? Would an LED or florescent light strip work well? 

2. Are there any specific things I should be looking for when choosing a light?

3. When my plants reach about 40-60 days, then they should be about ready to harvest right? I've read that when the crystals turn from clear to amber then the plant is ready for harvest.  

2. Hi mate, I think a lot more research is in order.

No battery powerd lights would ever be enough,

you can have hid lights in cool hoods that are perfectly safe in smaller grows,