In search of comfrey leaves...

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Dr. Who, Aug 21, 2012.

1. *Not sure where to post this*

:smoke:
    Here's my issue...I am interested in finding a local (45431) comfrey. I live
    in an apartment that doesn't really allow growing your own plants outside and unfortunately I don't think I have anymore room indoors that gets enough sunlight. Suggestions please. I'm new to all of this...please be gentle. :D

2. Im not sure where you will be able to get comfrey local to you. You could find a place that sells different types of herbs. I found an organic herbs spot near me that sells comfrey, nettle as well as other stuff along that line. It'll probably be a bit on the expensive side though.

Also, if you decide to grow a plant of your own, dont grow it indoors. The plant needs to be in the ground to be used for what you would want since the roots need to gather up all the goodies that make the plant so effective. I have been to find a few nuseries in my area and have found that comfrey is not really a plant alot of people out here know about. When I inquire about it, the usual response is "what is comfrey?" The few places that I have found that have it, will only have the true comfrey and when I ask about the sterile strains, they dont know what Im talking about. Ive come to the conclusion that unless your local nursery is knowledgable on the subject, I would be better off ordering from the net since I dont want my yard overrun with the plant.

I hope this makes sense for you and there's something there that can help.

3. How cold of climates can comfrey grow in? Say maine. Could it be grown here?

4. You can mail order it from Mountain Rose Herbs for about 10 bucks a pound for the dried leaf material. You can also order it in powdered form from Liberty Naturals for the same price.

IIRC Jerry has ordered it from Mtn. Rose and he can give you amounts to use for making a tea.

Chunk