Im pulling out my friggin hair

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Blackron02, Apr 1, 2011.

1. Hello all. I am an absolute beginner when it comes to cultivation. I have taken over ten seeds (some bag seeds and some feminized white widow seeds from attitude seed bank) and tried to germ them on Wednesday.

I put 3 on a plate layered in damp paper towels and another 3 in a gladware bowl layered in damp paper towels on the top of my warm tv with a black blanket over it. I have taken 5 seeds and placed them in 5, 16-ounce cups filled with foxfarm organic soil ( about a half inch deep each) then placed them in my grow box 3.5 inches away from my 3 cfl light set up and nothing! No sprouts, no cotyledons or anything!

I've been reading grow journals and tutorials that are stickied on GC forums for a good while now and thought I at least had a good chance at germination. I thought the hard part would have been veggin or flowering but I can't even get these damn seeds to start!

I have 4 more bag seeds remaining and would appreciate any help that could get these bad boys sprouted. I'm sad as hell watching these cups and plates.

2. U don't need lights on them right away.

Before planting in soil did a taproot pop? I normally don't plant in soil until I see a taproot, then once into some soil, 4-5 days later it should sprout.

There is also the shot glass method of germinating.

Filled the glass with warm water, let the seeds float and cover the glass in a dark cup. In 24 hours, seeds should sink, those that do, u can try putting them in plates with wet napkins to get them to show their taproot.

How long has it been since u planted them in cups?

3. I planted the cup seeds about 12 hours ago but the plated seeds are on day 2

4. Let's address these one group at a time.

3 on a plate - Are you keeping these in a warm, dark place? If you touch the paper towel is it warm or cool to the touch?