Ideas on quitting smoking

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by Metal_Mdv, Oct 26, 2014.

1. Hey blades, I'm relatively new to this site.. although i have been browsing the forums for about a year now.. anyway
    I was wondering if fellow smokers or non smokers preferably could help me with how they stopped smoking ciggarettes, i mean ive been smoking for 7 years now and hate every second of it..
    The longest i went was 2 months before flipping my shit over somthing and started back due to stress..
    any tips or ideas would be great !

2. what helped me kick it was realizing how disgsting i actually smelled and tasted after smoking a cig. i wash my hands a lot as it is and i was just tired of my clothes smelling and my chest hurting

3. i am tired of that aswell, damn chest-pains.. but if i dont have a smoke.. especially cuz i work at a resteraunt right now i find my nerves get shot and not trying to make excuses but I'm bi-polar so my mood swings get worse and harder to monitor and control ... i did quit by using E-cigs before though, maybe i should give it another go.. ? I still craved but they did work okay,, took some getting use too.. what about the gum anyone know if that works well?

or even patches?

4. #4 Delightfully High, Oct 26, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 26, 2014
    I chewed on gum/tooth picks ,wore a nicorette patch for a couple days ,and kept a rubber band around my wrist that I would "snap" anytime I had a craving to get my mind off of it. After about two weeks all I had to do was tell myself I'd never pick up another cigarette again and alas one year and two months later I haven't and I smoked for eleven years.

Get the book The Easy Way to Stop Smoking by Alan Carr. Make sure you actually read it. By the end of the book you'll be done smoking, and no, it's not a gross-out thing or a fear thing or anything like that.

Great ideas especially toothpicks that would probably help also