I want to grow, but don't know how!

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Senor Zheng, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Hola!

I am a newbie on this board, but have been a long time smoker of over 20 years and love me weed. I am just tired of having to chase my "man" down and pay his prices. (Usual problem). I am a 40 year old man, not a kid (at least chronologically). One good grow would last me several months of good smoking and save me some money.

I want to try my hand at growing, not to sell, but to keep for my own use. I have about 50 to 100 seeds collected up and wish to grow them. I really don't know how to go about the process from germination forward. I have learned through school, but all that I have researched has shown that growing weed is a little more complicated than growing a fern. Or is it?

I have watched some YouTube videos of growers and their operations. It seems to me that these people have purchased and used lots of expensive equipment, an expense that I don't want to undertake perse. These "commercial" people seem to have such intricate setups. For all the money spent on these setups, I can just buy the weed I want and avoid the aggrevation.

Is there a way to see which of the seeds I have are bunk and which ones will grow? My plan is to take some of the seeds, put them in toilet paper and put them on a windowsill to see if they sprout and then put them into small pots and go from there. Put them in a pot of good soil, and if they grow to a reasonable height, I will probably move them to a closet or a bathroom with a heat light. But again, I don't know what the f**k I am doing when it comes to light and temp and would like some research.