I used to be a Pastor.....

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by Jlee3843, Apr 18, 2011.

1. I'm basically just venting here, and wanted to share my experience, and see the response of others.
    I'll try not to make this to lengthy.

I'm almost 30, I was brought up in "normal" Christian home (Pentecostal). I did my share of partying as a teen. At 19 was married and very involved in youth ministry. For three years I pursued becoming an ordained minister with the Assemblies of God. Hit bumps along the way. Was told that was "back slidin" and not ready for ministry. Of course I got upset for a while. But got over it and started again. I eventually became a licensed minister but I began to notice a trend, as I studied more I began to notice that what I was being taught didn't line up with scriptures that were being used for reference. things that seemed miraculous such as healing through "speaking" positive words and prayer, were confusing me since "the world" (people not of faith) had cases of cancer being healed through positive words and such.
    I have to say I have seen things before my very eyes not hear say that appeared to be miraculous. Where they? At this point I don't have a good conclusion.