I think I want to write a book. Any advice or ideas please?

Discussion in 'The Bookshelf' started by NFloyd2357, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Yea, i want to write a book, especially with all my free time this summer... I dont know what i want to write at all... any ideas would be cool... i like writing from personal experience, but im also very imaginative so i can write about anything. I thing my writing style is comparative to the whole beatnik style, jack kerouac etc, a bit hunter thompson-esque... i dont read a lot of books (but i do read alot) so i dont have a lot to compare to. I tend to take sarcastic tones and be a bit satirical...i'll give some background info on myself

Ok, well, i guess to put it simply i've had more happen to me in my last year than ever before. And its understandable, i graduated highschool, and went to college. Im a freshmen in college and just realized my love for writing (and i think im pretty good at it too). I always knew i was good at it, but never realized how good i am, and how much i enjoy it. For the longest time i thought i was math/science oriented, and wanted to be an engineer since i can remember. College hit me like a bag of bricks and i realized i wasnt cut out for engineering. Im about to change my major to journalism (and poli-sci too cuz i promised my mom id go to law school if i dont do engineering). I REALLY enjoy writing, like, a lot. Im a musician and i like writing music and lyrics the most, but i really enjoy writing anything, even research papers. lately ive been writing, i guess id call them journal entries, about everything going on in my life, ranging from deciding my major, to trying ecstasy, to my philosphies on karma, logic etc etc. I consider myself to be very well educated and to have tons of different philosphies on life.