I Smoke She Doesn't

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by soraybombs, May 23, 2019.

1. Hello all, I'm new to the forum world but I thought I'd reach out for some advice or to hear back from people will a similar situation.

Some backstory:
    My girlfriend and I are both 24. We have been dating for about 9 months now, and she moved into my place at the 4 month mark. We have a great relationship intellectually, sexually and we get a long quite well. We both do art, and love spending time together. We've never really had any arguments or fights.

The troubles:
    When I lived alone I would smoke around 3 joints after work and toke all the time on weekends. That was the norm for me, that's how I relax and enjoy my time and helps with my art. I've been blazing for 7 years at least and that's just part of my lifestyle.

When we first started dating I was upfront about the fact that I enjoy to smoke, but I never did infront of her because it's not her thing. Since we live together, I've cut way back on smoking because I know she feels a little uncomfortable with it and told me "people act differently when they're high, I'd rather talk to a normal person".
    She has had a violent home during her childhood due to drugs and alcohol which I believe plays a big part in this. I don't normally have my after work joints anymore, I usually wait until before I go to bed.

Now that we've lived together for almost half a year, im dying to do what I want to do.. get stoned whenever I feel like it.

I can tell she's not a fan when I'm high, even though I don't change as a person, I'm just less talkative. I feel like I shouldn't change who I am and what I do but there's always that hesitation for her sake.

My thoughts: