I need your opinions

Discussion in 'General' started by Bud420, Apr 19, 2010.

1. By no means is this an advertisement.

I recently learned HTML/CSS so I figured I would try and make a website and collect some google adsense money.

So if you would be so kind as to critque mt websites

Design
    Content

and anything you feel would make my website better. It's just on the freewebs.com thing for now since theres no point in paying for a server and domain until it is finished.

http://lifestylechoice.webs.com/

2. It's very very basic and I don't predict that you would get any significant traffic with a site like that at all. Sorry man.

3. I'm no expert by any means, and it's been a few years since I've done any real editorial work, but here's what bothers me.

- Use of white space - you want clear concise vertical lines, it's not a proper essay so you can do without indentation
    - Line spacing, and overuse of bold text - generally in websites larger text sizes, and text accents like bold are reserved for section headers
    - Inconsistent headers - on my screen "Nutrition" "Exercise" and "Tips" don't line up, I'd also shy away from centered text
    - That social network connect bar on the bottom has to go, I'm not sure if that's something that your host puts there or if you did, but its got to go.
    - You want to set up any document that you create, regardless of the media, in a grid-like manner. Only exception I can think of is artistic poetry, or lists I suppose. If you're doing lists though, make sure you use bullet points or some sort of numeric indicator.
    - I think you could use some wider margins to reduce eye strain on your readers. A simple ~10-15 word column is easier on the eyes than text that sprawls across the entire width of the page
    - Times New Roman is a classic, but it's a bit hard on the eyes. I want to say Cambria is the newish web standard font, but I'm not sure