I hope VB is easy, cuz I'm programming next week and have no clue how

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by Tomber, May 2, 2011.

1. Hey everyone.

So I work as a data entry/office admin assistant grunt and my co-workers and bosses have been taking advantage of my technical knowledge more and more often recently. So today I got asked to design and create an interface for all this data that's on our servers. I'm more of a network guy and although I am very competent technically, I have never programmed before because it didn't seem fun. But anyways I have to start this project next week. Any tips? I love a challenge.

Also I'm downloading Visual Studio 2010 as I type, and several intro/intermediate textbook on the subject. I like the challenge :smoke:

2. #2 Fëanor, May 3, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2011
    My honest recommendation: unless the company is paying you extra for this work, or there is a lot of room for you to move up via promotion, I would try to talk them out of it. It's not a good business decision for them.

What they are asking for isn't easy, could cause something to go wrong with the data, and (no offense) shouldn't be in the hands of a solo amateur programmer. Like me.

It's definitely doable and sounds relatively simple based on what you described, but they could pay an experienced programmer for several hours of work and be done with it, or it can be a never-ending project of bug fixes, slow application performance, upgrades, etc. for you.

Also this type of work general pays upwards of $50k per year. Are they paying you that much? Keep it in mind.

Now, on to the fun side: the programming! What type of data are we talking here? Databases? Files/folders? Combination? I'm a big proponent of web-based programming because it makes it easy to provide everyone access to your application from anywhere in the world.

3. ^ Web apps are the future!