I Have No Idea What Love Is

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by esseff, Aug 17, 2020.

1. I have no idea what love is. What most people think love is doesn’t feel like love to me. It seems more like need, want, desire. It is familiarity, provides companionship, an escape from being alone. It brings security, but is that love?

I've had a lot of experience discovering what I thought was love was actually something else. Never mind the neuro-chemical reaction to ensure survival of our species through procreation, which is easy to fall into. I can't help feeling it. It is why I think I am in love only to later discover I am not. I'm sure I feel it and then know I don't.

But it doesn’t take long for lives to become intertwined; it's easier to stay together than it is to end. Endings seem hard and lonely, whereas continuing is at least familiar, even if it isn't happy, maybe even miserable. If I'm honest, I know my feelings are no longer there, but I hide it. Love then becomes gratification, pleasure, the need to raise children. I don't think that is love. I think that is an idea of love.

Not long after I get together, I start expecting something, often insisting and sometimes imposing. I start controlling little things, then a bit of interfering, as if I want her to be like me.

I've spent my life dealing with myself, and yet somehow expect my partner to understand and know me well, and then I get affected when she doesn't.

I want something that is missing, believing she will fill the gap, and she doesn't, she can't, in fact in many ways she interferes with me, because while I want her to be happy. Want her to feel good. Want things for her that make it nice, that please her, hopefully change her, certainly support her, in doing so I give up some of who I am.