I can't decide what to do with my life

Discussion in 'General' started by Surfer36, Oct 18, 2012.

1. I'm a college sophomore, and though I am currently pursuing a degree in business (finance) I really can't see myself being a suit wearing cubicle drone all my life.

I want to get out and experience the world, nature, be outside and enjoy my life.

I don't want to be that guy that sucks it up and settles for the safety net, and chooses a career path like I am to get a job and be safe (but nowadays, what's safe in the job market anyways) and always have the hindsight of what I should/shouldn't have done.

I simply don't want to have that type of lifestyle.

But I don't know what I want to do, you know? How am I supposed to know at 20 years old what my life passion is?

And as much as I don't want to do that, I don't know what else I would do, and I feel like time is just flying by as I get closer and closer to having to decide.

Any advice?

Thanks everyone

2. this is my plan, maybe it could help you

1) this is most likely whats gonna happen

im going to learn how to weld, move to cali and get my license, skate smoke and live all my life

or

2) if really fuck up to the point where no one wants me around, i'll just go to tibet or somewhere else and become a buddhist monk.

it sounds weird but it makes perfect sense

3. i know exactly how you feel. our society goes completely against what humans should be doing.

4. Yeah man I just want to live, find what I want to do and do it. But i just don't know what that is yet, and I feel like I'm just at a crossroads. I could switch majors, keep on going as is, or save myself tens of thousands of dollars of student debt and find a career without college.

College is just such an industry anymore, and society just pounds it into your head that its what you NEED to do, when I have no idea what it really is that I want.

I come from a fairly affluent area too, to not go to college is taboo, it's disgusting