Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

I cannot sleep, tried OTC

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by frankieD20c, Aug 12, 2012.

1. I've had insomnia since I was a freshman in highschool, and now, freshman in college, its really taking it's toll on me.
    To the occasional toker: Is there anyone that strictly tokes only before sleep?
    I would like to start doing that instead of in the PM (4:20), which is the only time when I will smoke.

2. Thats why i started. Than i realized how many other things it helps so i toke multiple times daily now

3. #3 SheenTheSage, Aug 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 12, 2012
    When I'm wired, I'll vape a big bowl about 8 pm so I'm more likely to be asleep before 11 pm. If you do it right before bed (15-45 minutes prior to trying to lay down), I noticed it's more of a stimulant (at least for me). Don't quote me, but I think the sedative properties are mediated by the metabolites of THC, so you have to wait a few hours before your feel sedated and sleepy. If you only do a small bowl or don't do multiple sessions per day, it's more likely that it will be processed out and you won't ever get very sleepy with the comedown...so maybe insomnia requires a big dose to be sedated? I have an anxiety disorder, so if I don't take something, I'm usually up until 12am-1am...too late. Valerian & melatonin also give me nightmares like Satan out of Hell...other stuff doesn't work very well...and benzos are too addictive and I know better than to rely on them.