Hydro stems dying hot mess

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Philipjd, Mar 11, 2023.

1. #1 Philipjd, Mar 11, 2023
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2023
    Hoping someone can help with the mess I'm in.
    Total newb second grow in hydro (and ever) thought I had learned from the first grow but clearly not ...

Some details

I have 5 plants all OGKush autoflowers .3 pots 2 with 2 plants all into the same res.
    Ph its kept at 5.8
    Using tap water ec about 180 than bring ec up to 400-500 with cal mag.
    Using GH flora trio was using about quarter the recommended dose for each stage of growth which brought ec up to about 1000 to 1100.
    Add hydroguard and than some great white
    Water temp was about 15degrees c but than it got real cold and water after refill was between 11 and 13 degrees. I got an aquarium heater trying to bring the water temp up going to aim for about 16 -19 degree range.
    Hydro sort of rdwc ( long story had recirculating between a res outside tent and grow res but the water was getting too cold outside the tent so re-plummed now just draws from and pumps around the res in the tent mainly just for the water flow from the waterfall taps) the tote is 115l total with about 80l when water is 10mm from the bottom of net pots.
    Tent itself has extraor fan and oscillating fans and 3 passive air intakes , with a heater also keeping temp in the low 20s degree c range.
    For good measure I added some Co2 to the tent with tmb naturals (but I know I am mostly wasting my money with it )
    I have 3 air stones in the res coming from 2 separate aquarium air pumps outside the tent.

On my last grow I got root rot and fought the whole grow.
    Like a muppet I used same air stone as last time and introduced rot root to this grow and now am battling that too with frequent res changes and hydroguard using big doses about 100ml in 80l and than topping up through the week.