Hydro Setup

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Apu42, Aug 11, 2011.

1. Hey GC people!

I'm considering the results of a hydro setup, but I am a little confused. Well I understand what I want, but I don't know all the names of where to get stuff and what things are called, and stuff. Yeah.

If any of this doesn't make sense or contradicts itself please let me know, I'm a noob and need to be directed!

I'm considering 2 plants side by side in their own home depot buckets. You know those Home Depot buckets they sell that are orange I believe?? I'm thinking about those. So I know I need to get the right size hole in the lid for my net pots (I guess they're called net pots?) which will be filled with whatever I decide to get, I don't really care. Rocks or something? Somebody just tell me what to use!

The two buckets will be slightly elevated and have a hole in the bottom of each with a line connecting to a reservoir. The grow buckets are slightly elevated so gravity continuously feeds water back into the reservoir. then each bucket also has another line near the top that feeds water into the bucket but it SPRAYS it everywhere in the bucket. I've seen this on youtube and imagine the items are in the fish section of a pet store? I want to just have a continuous (or intervals, whatever) stream on the roots. Is the called a bubbler? I don't know anything. So with this I would need a water pump.

I saw an air pump for a fish tank with 2 'blowers' the other day for 14 bucks so I bought it on a whim. How much do water pumps go for?

Anybody with a better idea to simplify, I'm open to suggestion and need guidance. Thanks!

2. Top drip! I wanna do top drip!!! hahaha