Humidity

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by realdozzy, Jan 30, 2013.

1. I have just put the thermometer in my grow room for a dry run before i put the plants in there the temperature is 18oc and the humidity is 71% i know how to get the temperature up but could someone please tell me how to get the humidity down please.

2. the humidity is fine for veg, you just need it to be lower in flowering to avoid mold. theres ventilation and theres electric dehumidifiers, though I havent used one yet and have no idea how they work.

3. i have now got the humidity down to 66% it does not seem to want to go any lower will this be ok for growing autos.

4. autos in general are no different from photos in this regard, just like any other except for the flowering trigger mechanism.
    Im no expert on this, but I believe for veg 60-80% humidity is good and for flower 40-60. so for an auto its gonna be completely fine like this for at least a month. personally I wouldnt worry about anything other than >70% in later stages of flowering.
    you can expect humidity to be higher with plants of considerable size vs no plants. the leaves transpirate much more water than the soil if pot and plant size are adequately matched.

5. That humidity is fine. FOAF has kept flowering plants in a cold closet overnight during the winter (prime time for mold) with humidity reaching up to 90% without any mold. Just make sure they get well ventilated during the day and you'll be fine.

6. i keep mine at 50% with a dehumidifier. without this it would keep rising until it suffocated the plants. higher heat will lower humidity. i wouldn't worry too much until it got to 70% or stayed over 60% for long periods of time. can you raise the ventilation? that should lower the humidity, on condition that the air coming in is lower