HPS Lights?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Telebubbies, Apr 11, 2017.

1. Hey. I am new to growing, and I ordered a growing tent and it is on its way. But for the tent, I want to have a 250W HPS light. I have no clue how HPS lights work.. I do not know what a ballast is or how it works. So can I put a 250W tubular HPS light in a normal CFL light socket or what? Do I need some special thing to make it work? If so, what do I need?
    Thanks in advance! :p

2. No yiu need a ballast and a mogul socket.

3. That's the thing. I live in South Africa, and I cannot find ANYONE who sells a ballast. I can only get the HPS light and the socket.. I am looking at voltex.co.za By any chance can you take a look for me to see if there is some other name for it or if there is like a substitute?

4. Without Ballast hps and mh don't work... Just get a LED or CFLs no ballast need just plug hang and grow.

5. A
    Alright. Then what do you recommend? CFL lights or LED lights? I am going to grow 4 plants. I know that for that amount of plants I need about 6 CFL lights or maybe even 7. By the way, the CFL lights I can get is 17W but gives off light equivalent to 75W. Will that still work?
    So basically; if I were to get LED growing lights, what is best for 4 plants? and is a 17W CFL light that is equivalent to 75W work?

6. I would recommend at least a 600w led for 4 plants

hillbillys medical adventure https://forum.grasscity.com/index.php?threads/1449778/

7. Apollo Horticulture GLK400GW19 400 Watt Grow Light Digital Dimmable HPS MH System for Plants Gull Wing Hood Set

8. Wai
    Wait, so is LED lights better than CFL lights? And also, I cannot find anything on Amazon that ships to my country..

9. you can't shop ebay there?

10. Yes led is wat better then cfl in my opinion....my buddy grows with them and has excellent plants....go check out his thread "Kevieboy420 family adventure grow "[​IMG]