HPS: a Coming of Age Story

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by HipHopaddix, Oct 8, 2014.

1.  Okay GC HipHopaddix here, lets do this. Im really not too sure where to even begin. I've been growing on and off the last couple years without much success, I've put a hell of a lot of time and spent a good chunk of change on my lil operation and Im having trouble getting those big bushy plants all the 600w HPS grow journals have on the GC forums with my setup. so here it goes, keep in mind this is my first time growing with all the correct equipment (hood, ballast, HPS instead of CFL or HOFl) and my first attempt at a grow journal so keep it constructive ey?

Alright so my growing space is somewhat limited, my girls are gonna be in a 36"x36" closet but im only gonna germinate three seeds this go around. So the closet should have plenty of space for now. I got three feminized seeds from a good buddy of mine, two THC Bomb seeds and one Sour Diesel seed. I literally just put them to soak for a few hours in a Tupperware container under my sink till morning then I plan on sticking them into some moist paper towel and in a dry Tupperware keeping the paper towel continuously moist.

My last few runs I've been using Root Riot cubes soaked in Rapid Start Rooter for like 30 mins and rung out till there barely dripping when squeezed,  I'll plant the sprouted seed tip root down, dome them and keep the humidity high until they break the surface. 

During the first two weeks I light them with one 2' T5 High Output Fluorescent made by Sunblaze which has always worked great for the first two weeks then the plants just don't get enough lumens to really start to veg out. So I recently purchased a Sun Systems 600w HPS setup with a Nanotech 600w dimmable ballast and the Sun Systems Yield Master II 6" air cooled hood and a Digimax 600 w digital HPS bulb to handle the lumen situation which it completely has.