how to start indoors and then move to outdoors?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by big dick bandit, Mar 13, 2016.

1. this is my first time growing and i want to try to grow 5 plants. I live in western Washington and the weather up here is pretty rough. so i wanted to start them indoor so they are a little stronger when they get out side. i was wondering what kind of lights i would need to get 5 plants to be about a foot tall

2. Look into t5s they are cheap and great for vegging.

For 5 plants I would recommend a 4 footer with 4 bulbs same thing I got

Check out my journal I'm doing the same thing.

Veg indoor and flower outside

3. feels a bit overkill for just 5 plants is there anyway to do it cheaper? i dont need to have them go though full veg just get them a bit stronger so they cant be killed as easy

4. Cfls...

6500K color bulbs

Gonna need at least 50-100 watts per plant. Actual watts not equivalent

5. you think these would do it?

6. Maybe 3-4 of those will probably get you by

7. thank you so much for your help, im new to all this growing stuff and its very over welming at times

8. No problem

Best would be 4 of those bulbs. Just google DIY Cfl grow light. It will give you tons of ideas.

Spend 1 hour on YouTube and I bet you will come up with something

9. Some basic rules for outside.. June 1st is the usual set out day.. Your latitude is further north so you can set out a bit sooner but it's chancy the earlier you try
    Clones and seedlings more then 30 days old can't go out much before June 1st without early flowering..
    Seedlings need 30 days to mature so they can be started outside a month early or the first week of May..
    If you start before that to get a bigger plant to set out you'll need to time match to outside fairly close or again they'll flower early from light shock..
    16-8 or 17-7 seems the best time match..