How to rid myself of shyness?

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by teeheeterror, Apr 23, 2012.

1. #1 teeheeterror, Apr 23, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2012
    Okay, so I'm a 19 year old male and yet I still feel awkward and anti-social at times.
    I rarely do the talking even when I'm with my friends, and I rarely if ever, try to get at girls or even befriend people unless I'm put in a situation where I'm forced to or highly encouraged to. I've had plenty of experiences where I start a convo and it's just ends abruptly mainly due to my inability to hold one. I've started running and weight training cause I heard exercise helps you gain confidence so I'll see how it goes. But is there any sure way of doing it?

Edit: And I can't get drunk all the time. Even if I did, it would just be downright embarrassing and easy to tell because I get Asian glow. And marijuana only makes me more paranoid and reserved. Heard from someone who said Xanax/Prozac help but I don't how much it costs and nor do I want to suffer from it's side effects.

2. #2 JEI3US, Apr 23, 2012
    There is only one way that I know of. You must find the magical cave of dreams and slay the shy leopluradon...they say if you eat its heart you will be free of shyness.

On a serious note being shy for me has been like a desease and its a constant fight but its gotten better. Do more activites and get out more really. Interact with anyone you can.

3. Worst quest on world of war craft.

And being social is always highly encouraged. So much more fun then being a recluse.

4. #4 1sttimegrower, Apr 23, 2012
    Talk to a professional. Therapy isn't for everyone, but it MAY help; its worth trying one session, especially if you can get it under your parents health insurance. (Being 19 I think your covered)