How to properly clean a glass bong?

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories Q&A' started by Dottumblrdotcom, Nov 17, 2012.

1. Hey I am new to bongs, and I just got one a few months ago (finally got to use it this week) and I was wondering how to clean it out? Mine isn't a plain cylindrical bong, but instead has two weird swirls in it on it's way to the top of the opening. These swirls go past the path required for smoke to travel and I guess only end up trapping water and probably are going to be a trouble to clean. It takes forever to get the water to leave those glass curl things.
    Anyways, so how do I clean it? Do I soak it in rubbing alcohol, or what else do I do? I didn't have any rubbing alcohol for some reason so I just rinsed the bong with water a few times and then soaked the bowl for 10 minutes and scrubbed that with a Q-tip. I figure I should get some pipe cleaners too.

2. This is the part of the reason to why I have not gotten one of those types of bongs yet. feels like it would be a nightmare to clean. My real question is how does she smoke so I can know if it's worth the trouble of getting one =D

3. -How to clean a glass bong-
    1) have iso rubbing alcohol
    2) have some sea salt
    3) pour 50/50 mix of both in bong
    4)hold female end and mouth piece with hands.
    5)shake like hell until clean
    6) rinse throughly with water
    7)smoke a bowl

4. ^everytime i do this i get a white coating on the inside of my bong and my hits taste like salt.

id say use some "Simple Green" mix it with a bit of hot water, plug the stem and let it sit for 24 hours, rinse and you'll be happy as a clam.

5. [quote name='"veinte uno"']^everytime i do this i get a white coating on the inside of my bong and my hits taste like salt.

id say use some "Simple Green" mix it with a bit of hot water, plug the stem and let it sit for 24 hours, rinse and you'll be happy as a clam.[/quote]