How to kill time at work?

Discussion in 'General' started by Mogwai, Sep 12, 2012.

1. #1 Mogwai, Sep 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2012
    So I work in a warehouse (started this week) doing shit that requires no thought... or really any mental activity for the most part of any sort. It's just bailing boxes, unloading boxes, or stacking boxes, for 10-12 hours a day at 50-60 hours a week.

I've never done this sort of work before and it's kinda weird because at previous jobs interacting with people was how I killed time, and now that's not an option. And I can't listen to music because you constantly have to keep both ears out for people driving equipment by you or supervisors hitting you up on the radio. And any sort of drug is out of the question because you really do have to be super attentive to not get hurt some how, and the smallest injury results in a drug test (I couldn't pass), and the supervisors even check for minor injuries at the end of shifts.. so yeah... I absolutely cannot risk getting hurt. Even showing up high is 100% out of the question.

All that said, I'm asking for ideas on methods to kill times. Doing the same shit for hours on end makes time go so goddamn slow. And without people, drugs, or music I'm at a loss. Hehe I've been spending time thinking of how I'll spend my next check or things to write about and post online, but those topics wear thin. Any more lasting ideas to kill time in such a dull environment aside from focusing on the work the entire time?

2. Don't look at the clock is the first and best advice I can give you.

Other than that, spend time in your head, problems you would be too busy to think about or perhaps a project you're working on, I dunno aha.

3. lol dude did you just merge two posts? the last paragraph makes no sense for this thread but perfect sense for the depression thread.