How to get your first job?

Discussion in 'General' started by Flonkas, Mar 31, 2011.

1. Hello everyone, I am a 19 year old failing at getting my first job!
    I have worked for my uncle since I was 15, however he is now retiring so I need to get a job.
    I have no "on the books" experience and mostly everywhere requires experience ><

Everytime I go to apply somewhere, they tell me they dont have paper applications, and I should apply online. Now 2 weeks later I have applied to many places (online). Now what?

2. I'm sort of in the same situation as you minus the whole first job. But what people have been telling me is to call back the places asking for the manager and ask them if they have received your application and see if they want to arrange an interview. GOod luck! finding a job sucks! :)

3. Online applications have completely killed the personality aspect of applying for a job, such bullshit.

Well, I imagine you probably aren't applying for some kind of highly skilled position so I say embellish it a bit. Normally I would say that that is bad advice, but if you are applying at like Home Depot or Wal-Mart or something like that, fuck it, why not?

4. good luck to you also!
    california has one of the highest unemployment rates :(

5. Ive embellished it a little ;)

I still cant even get a single call :mad:

I mean, I know there are 40 year olds applying for teen jobs these days so how the fuck can I get the job if the employers could pick an old responsible lady with experience

6. I feel you man, I have been having trouble too. But no paper applications? Thats lame. The only thing you can do is apply at as many places as possible and hope for the best, in this troubled economy.

7. Offer to work under the table (For cash). Tell no one and avoid paying our government
    over 25% of your paycheck to appease the 14 trillion dollar debt.

8. snagajob.com
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    Go there
    and dude, don't just call after you the apps in