How to germinate seeds

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by MasterMind24, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Hi IM new to growing and need help I got a couple seeds I found in a bag and just want to try to get them to sprout what should I do

2. First, let's make sure that your seeds are adequate for growing. Any white seeds are of no use. They must be brown with black dots/stripes to grow properly. Secondly, is this going to be an indoor or an outdoor grow? There are stickies in this forum for both kinds. Generally, you can: plant them in appropriate soil 1 inch deep & water it then wait a few days for a sprout, or put them in a cup of water for 3 days until they sprout or sink then transfer to soil. Also, you can put them in-between a couple of damp paper towels for a few days (make sure it stays damp but not waterlogged). For the last 2 methods, they must be done in the dark away from light sources.
    I highly recommend you thoroughly study growing because it only gets more and more complicated as you go on. GC is the best place to learn from. I spend a lot of time in the indoor cultivation sub-forum, even though I am well-versed in the art of indoor growing just to brush up on the newest techniques.

3. Thanks so much man

4. If u use the damp paper or the glass of water take care because the little root that appear is very easy to broke.If are going to grow indoor I think is fine to put direct in the soil.If u want to put the seeds outdoor direct in the soil(not recomendate) be shure they have enaught moisture

5. I use oasis. I squish my finger into the little hole making it a bigger hole. I drop my seed in and fill the hole with dirt. I place it in a plastic bag or a covered sprout tray.

When my tap roots start too appear I plant the whole thing as is. This also works with the peat cups.

6. I use vermicompost which affords seeds biological protection from pathogenic zoospores, unlike sterile starting mediums.