How many of you are running a linux distro?

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by LateNiteSmoker, Jun 27, 2010.

1. I'm fairly new to Linux (less than a year) but running Ubuntu 10.04 currently and just got my mother to switch over from Vista ;)

Just checking to see if most everyone is Mac Or Windows or if there is some Linux users like myself hangin around. :D

2. Ahh nice to meet ya, mate! I'm running Windows XP on two boxes, both with VMWare installed.

I'm running the following *nix distros via VMWare...

Ubuntu 9.04
    Ubuntu 9.10
    Backtrack 3 and 4
    OpenFiler for NAS/Apache/Mail Sever (rPath)
    CentOS
    FreeBSD

Not all of these (other than the servers and Ubuntu 9.10) are running simultaneously. I do a lot of pentesting (Backtrack) and enjoy "tinkering" with the other distros.

I'm also a developer for Ubuntu. So if you've ever got a problem or encounter a bug, I'm one of the guys that jumps on it to confirm and release a fix. :)

Welcome aboard, brother. The *nix community is a very tight-knit and loving family ;)

3. Aye - Got a lucid lynx box running here!

4. fellow linux user. 9.10 on both laptop and desktop with xp on each as well.

5. I have OpenSuse with KDE 4 but I don't use it since I have been using my phone for internet and it's not supported.

6. I run lucid sometimes when I want to browse the net somewhat faster.

7. I used to use Ubuntu. A lot actually. I used it for about 3 years. While I was using it about 3 months ago, I was re partitioning my drive so I could have more space on Windows. While my windows 7 partition got corrupt and I got really pissed. So after just sitting there going like fuck this piece of shit and wanting to punch my laptop, I snapped every Linux/Ubutnu disk I had in half. So now I only use windows 7 haha.

8. I have linux mint on my computer.
    Have any of you tried Fedora?

9. i used to run xubuntu for fun. I still have it.