How long can organic soils "sit" for?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by HighOnTheHill, Aug 5, 2011.

1. I made about 70 gallons of an organic soil mixture a few months ago. I know you let the soil "cook" for a 3-4 weeks before you use it, and that's what I did. However, I vegged for a bit longer than intended and now I've got the rest of the soil sitting in my garage after going on 3.5 months.

Is my soil mixture still good? This is my first organic grow, so I'm still learning the ropes about this. I'm not sure if the microbes have consumed all of the nutrients, and I need to re-amend it, or if because of the microbe activity, the soil may be too hot? Or maybe there's no microbes left and I need to hit it with some mycorrhizal innoculum or something like Liquid Karma?

Just really not sure what to do at this point in time.

2. #2 LumperDawgz2, Aug 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 5, 2011
    HighOnTheHill

The only thing that can negatively impact a soil is (primarily) a lack of oxygen. A soil is aerobic - cut off the oxygen and it soon will be anaerobic which is why storing soils in unvented plastic tubs is not the optimum way to handle things.

Even if the soil as 'gone over to the other side' you can fix it pretty easily by applying a legitimate AACT meaning no bat guano, no Liquid Karma, no Busdwel, no Superthrive, blah, blah, blah

Follow the proportions at MicrobeOrganics.com who may be the most advanced soil scientist as it relates to nutrient cycling and related science. I alter his recipe but that's for a specific goal.

If you use the formula at this web site and you apply this to the soil that you've layer out on an open tarp and you cover the soil as equally as possible then you'll have the aerobic colonies in force which decimate the anaerobic colonies.