How hot is too hot for an external ballast?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by macpride, May 19, 2011.

1. #1 macpride, May 19, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2011
    I have a SunSystem 10 Crop Master external ballast hooked up to a hilux gro 1000w HPS in a cool tube.

Now my question, the ballast is hot, like where at first when you touch the exterior you think you wanna pull away because of how hot it is, but you can actually hold your hand on the exterior, all sides, for I'd say about 5-10 seconds before your fingers feel hot enough to take off. Just wondering if this is normal because of the wires around it, not many at all, just the ones pertaining to the cool tube and plug to wall are next to it, and I have it on a piece of sheetwood, or plywood if you will.

I have a little 8 inch fan i can just turn on and blow towards it i guess.

any answers appreciated :smoke:

p.s. I'm not exactly a newbie, I usually just do outdoor, and messed with some CFL for experimental reasons.

2. All ballast get warm or hot unless its an electronic ballast..

3. ^ What he said.

Avoid putting the ballast in the cabinet with the light to help keep temps down.

4. Man you should just invest in an electronic ballast. I know that sounds expensive. But save yourself any hassles once you get things going, you dont want ur ballast crap out and die during your cycle, it will run cooler and more quite and better on the hydro bill lol

5. I have a electronic ballast and it gets hot. Like if I put my hand on it I really dont want it there.

I did Electronics Maint in the Marine Corp for 10 years (just got out) and when you have a heat sink that big means some heat gonna be generated...thats the electronic ballasts enclosure has all those fins. We had heat sinks on some stuff that were measured in feet and you could cook on top of them..but thats what there there for to rapidly dissipate heat...so being hot is a good thing it means its doing its job.