How do I start a conversation?

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by The Talking Dog, Aug 31, 2010.

1. I just started college and I see a lot of girls and guys just standing around waiting for classes, I suppose the popular cliches don't transfer over to juinor college because I notice that even the pretty guys and galls just stand around awkwardly.

So I have an idea to go up and talk to a pretty girl (crazy right) but I don't have a clue when it comes to intro lines.

What possible reason could I have for talking to someone at random? What do I say? Is it strange if I tell her that I'm new to the city and don't know anyone?

How does this work? how do you talk to people at random without being at the bar?

2. Well, chances are, if they are just standing around awkwardly, they're probably asking themselves the same question you are asking now. You're in college! Talk about college. Find someone who's in another class with you and bring up something that happened in class. Look at the books they are holding and ask them about that. The fucking weather. Just try and talk about something you know about. Don't start a topic off by asking someone about quantum physics if you're not prepared to carry on a conversation about it.

3. ask them WHERE THE TREE AT!

4. This one worked for me but it was at a party not school. I'm looking for girl friend material. As much as I love pot I don't think I could take that as a good first impression... unless you're at the bar then all first impressions are good.

5. great advice. If I know a small bit about them I can carry on a conversation like any normal person. What stumps me is when someone is just standing there and you have no clue who they are or anything about them other than the color of their clothes. What do I say then? Nice shirt... I like purple too.

6. bump into them, help pick up their shit and just go from there!