How do I begin?

Discussion in 'Marijuana Business and Industry' started by hgiigh33, Sep 13, 2015.

1. I'm a sophomore in college, studying botany and agriculture. I am interested in maybe moving out to CO, CA, or WA for the summer to maybe do some trimming or other menial type work at a dispensary. I have no experience in the industry besides being a massive stoner, but I also take my studies very seriously and would absolutely be interested in some work for the summer to explore the industry. I know some restrictions apply, like residency and age, but do you have any ideas as to how I might start this process? Again, basically I am looking to move out to one of these states for the summer, find temporary living, and find some work in the industry. I will be 20 during this time period. Thank you everyone in advance for your help!

2. Pretty sure all states that have legalized have an age requirement of 21+ to buy or smoke which extends into the job industry. I live and work in CO where you need an MMED badge for any mmj industry job. Application requirements are you must be 21+, a CO resident and you have to pass a background test. There's also a $150 fee for a support badge which is what you need to trim or budtend and a $400 fee for a key badge, required for more supervisory roles.

3. #3 EmeraldCream, Nov 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 1, 2015
    "legalization" means the elites are regulating this industry into the hands of a few.

Unless you're connected or rich enough to get in now you you likely never will be.

If you really want to be a farmer for a living grow something else that doesn't have the government or a biotech company swarming all over it. Berries are working out pretty well for the moment but TBH I'm sure it's just a matter of time before those need to be "HIGHLY REGULATED!!" into some rich guys pocket as well.