How difficult is it to flush and replace power-steering fluid?

Discussion in 'Planes, Trains & Automobiles' started by Coup D'etat, May 28, 2010.

1. So the people at Honda told me that my steering fluid is getting dark. This was last week, and back in December last year they told me the same thing. It costs $100 to do that and while I do have the money, I don't feel like spending it. :D I'm out of warranty as well.

So what am I looking at? I'm a noob, but I can usually get things right with enough YouTube videos and other stuff. My uncle knows his stuff as well, so I'll probably be doing it with him. I just want to know what I might be getting myself into and what to expect.

The car is an 07' Accord V6 3.0L. VROOM VROOM!

Thanks in advance.

2. dont alway listen to what the dealer ship has to say, they usually tell you these things to make money off you. my advice is check the fuild your self, power steering fluid should be clear. easiest way to change it, get a wet dry vac and suck it all out and refill it

3. a shopvac? lolwut

try a turkey baster. most of the time, power steering fluid doesn't need to be changed even if it's dirty.

and power steering fluid isn't clear, its an amber color.

4. #4 4nic8r, May 28, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 28, 2010
    i've been in the auto industry for almost a decade... ur 2nd statement is the very definition if ignorant.. 3rd one wasn't too accurate either..

power steering is generally clear.. some vehicles, require different types of fluids which may be tan, red, etc.. do not make black and white statements to people who don't understand the grey area is all im saying..

the above people are correct, there are lil suction devices that suck the fluid out of ur PS reservoir.

To flush the system..

1. Start the car, pop hood, remove PS reservoir cap

2. suck out new fluid, pour new clean fluid in, get in the car, turn the steering wheel lock to lock slowly like 2 full times both directions