how close can I place my 400w mh/hps light

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by JamisDakarXLT, Jul 27, 2011.

1. Hello, newbie here, how close can you place a 400w mh/hps light to the tops of the plant? I have access to a home made cooltube (pyrex bread/meatloaf tube) and I might use that if it produces any major benefits.

I heard the closest to the tops of plants without a cooltube is 19in. Is this true? How close with a cooltube etc etc???????
    PLease fill me in!
    Thx.

2. A new 400w HPS bulb can be 11" away from the plants without causing light burn. This doesn't account for temperature and only applies if you have enough lamp cooling to get it that close. Simply use a thermometer, your hand or the appearance of the plants' tops to gauge how close is too close.

3. #3 Sickleg, Jul 27, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2011
    I have some plants 3 inches with no problems. Just an air cooled hood with a 4 inch walmart fan in it.

5" is optimal for light intensity.

4. #4 Jellyman, Jul 27, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2011
    If the plants are 3" from a 400w HPS bulb and not frying, then either something in between them is blocking the light, the ballast isn't feeding the bulb enough power, or the bulb is old and not producing as much light. I think the average halflife on an HPS is about two years of use if I remember correctly; where it puts out half the light it used to.

No marijuana plants can be closer than about ten inches from brand new, properly working, unobstructed, stationary 400w HPS bulb for twelve hours a day.

edit: Please note that this does not refer to how far from the hood's glass the plants are, but from the bulb itself.

5. My plants are about 8" from the light without a cooling tube.
    In veg I also run 24/0. No cooked leaves, they love it.
    It's only 2 grows old, so I whould assume its "works like new"

Perhaps older generation MH and HPS units were hotter?