How can i cut a perfect whole in wood?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Cold Play, Mar 26, 2011.

1. Without buying expensive power tools? I am trying to cut a whole for ventilation.

2. What tools do you have? Trying for a square or circular hole?

3. #3 Inthedirt4good, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011
    diameter of hole?

what kind of material are you cutting. is it solid wood, particle board, plastic, plywood, metal?

4. #4 Cold Play, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011
    Circular hole

Sorry, I wasn't clear. I am a amateur builder and I am planning on trying to make a nice quality grow box. I was originally planning to use wood but if you could recommend a better material (unless wood would be the best choice) I would really appreciate it. If I used plastic I could use a soder iron but I want a better material box (not so flimsy) in my closet. The whole I need will be for a 4" inline fan with either a home made carbon scrubber or a purchased one. (I'm also planning on making small cup size carbon filters that are about a 2" diameter along with small 1" diameter holes to feel cord through.

I could easily purchase a grow tent but I think it would be alot of fun to build your own.

5. Hmmmmmmm... the cheapest way i can think of is obviously borrow a couple tools.

However, you Could use a chisel to make a starter hole in the wood then a keyhole saw to cut a circle.

not sure how a chisel would preform on particle wood (osb), or plywood, might be a bit messy

[​IMG]

6. If you draw the circle and drill out some holes it will make it a lot easier to trace the circle with a keyhole saw. Particle board would work, but solid wood likely be a bit more rigid over the long haul.

Home Depot and the like rent tools -- I'm always amazed at what they have.