How bad is the smell outdoors?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by PerfectPolly, Jul 20, 2019.

1. Hi guys,
    I'm new to growing, I just want bud without having to go through dodgy dealers again.
    I'm looking at growing 1 or 2 plants in my back garden. My garden is full of vegetation, and I'm pretty sure were fine hiding it from view, but how bad is the smell? I'm looking at growing the critical autoflowering feminised strain from weedseedsexpress but I'm just not sure about the smell.
    We live in the suburbs and have neighbors right next to us, the plants would probably be ~20 feet away from the edge of their garden. I was wondering if there are any good strategies you guys have to hide the smells outdoors that will be effective. If not I guess it'd be best not to grow?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I'm very new to all this, even though I have done a lot of research it doesn't seem very clear cut.

• Like Like x 1
  2. I would talk to your neighbors if you know them. It's good to know your neighbors, and hard to get in trouble if they are on your side. Just my 2cents

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. I think a lot depends on strain. I’ve seen 2 bagseed plants that were planted at the same time and one smelled at a ft or so tall. You will need some distance and I will have to respectfully disagree with telling your neighbors. Or anybody else. I hope it goes well.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Welcome to Grasscity!

It's cannabis so it's stinky. And if it wasn't stinky (in the right way) would you want the flower? Terpenes are essential oils that provide scent, but also effect the high significantly.

I'd take the advice above and consider speaking with your neighbors...