Hot Box Vaporizer Review

Discussion in 'Vaporizers' started by bdubs88, Aug 6, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone!

I've browsed these forums for a long time but this is my first post! For my first thread I thought I'd review my Hot Box vaporizer that I've had for some time. I've been smoking frequently for 5 years and this is the only vape I've ever owned, although I have used the Volcano on a couple occasions. I smoked my Hot Box daily for a few weeks when it was brand new, but nowadays I only use it occasionally.

-Price
    This was what first attracted me to the Hot Box. I smoked a friend's volcano and immediately decided I needed a vaporizer. And as a poor college student, buying a vaporizer for a little over $120 was hard to beat. Based on what I've seen online and my personal experience, it's probably one of the best at that price point.

-Simplicity
    That's the name of the game when it comes to this vape. The Hot Box could not be simpler in its use or construction. The heating element is either on or off, which may be an advantage or disadvantage depending on what your needs are.

-Use
    I'm less than thrilled with the way this thing smokes. That being said it still smokes very well with casual use. When the glass and screen are clean it smokes like a dream, yielding huge hits if you draw smoothly and slowly. It definitely smokes great when in good working order. The high is the same clear, heady, long-lasting high that you'll experience with other vaporizers. However, after repeated uses buildup of gunk particularly on the screen becomes a problem. The buildup requires you to draw harder on the whip, which makes it much more likely that you'll light the herb up, the result of which is the most foul-tasting hit you'll ever take, not to mention a huge waste.