Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Holding in smoke fallacy.

Discussion in 'Marijuana Consumption Q&A' started by Eclipse996, Aug 9, 2012.

1. Hi, so recently iv noticed a lot of people being misinformed and trying to be Internet doctors. I work as a full time paramedic so I may be able to shed a little light on the situation.

First and foremost the debate seems to be whether holding in your hit actually makes you more high. Most people say yes, while others claim that it doesn't and that it is actually caused by oxygen deprivation. I assure you, holding in your hit for 2-10 seconds in know way will cause hypoxia or hypoxemia. Oxygen deprivation (hypoxia) means inadequate supply of oxygen to a point where organs can not maintain themselves. I witness hypoxic patients daily and most of these patients are suffering from some form COPD, meaning they're body can't maintain the appropriate oxygen levels for the body to maintain itself.

In a normal persons lung the body can maintain 1-2 minutes on one breath of air. So the thought that holding in your hit for 2-10 or even 20 seconds causes some form of oxygen deprivation is a complete fallacy. That "head rush" you are feeling is from when you exhale, releasing near all of your oxygen to remove the smoke from your lungs. I hope this rant helps clear things up and also helps to shed some light on the misuse of oxygen deprivation

2. except for the fact that when you inhale smoke its not oxygen... :rolleyes:

and THC is absorbed into your lungs within 7 seconds