HLG QB distance for Seedlings??

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by OGbean, Aug 28, 2018.

1. Hey guys,

Got my 2nd grow underway of Northern Lights Auto. My seedling is at 4 days since germination and I wondering how far I should have my QB 65 from it (didn’t have a QB until a week before flower on my first grow)

Here’s a picture [​IMG]

The milk jug is for size reference. The pot is sitting on a cooler to bring it closer to the light, but if it’s too close I can easily lower it back down.

2. I'm new to qb also, Tried a couple of distances out. Light par reduces quite a bit by distance. I'm at 18 inches which is where I always run my leds and that is better for me. I was at 24 inches and not enough intense light. There is a youtube video which compares the 100 to the 65 and the 135 (which is what I have) and it gives all the par readings at different heights. 18 inches is not too much heat imo, and as long as it covers your growing area is a good distance for me. With just one seedling you could run closer I suppose and still get complete coverage.

• Like Like x 1
  3. In at 14 with no I'll effects .

• Like Like x 1
  4. I go as low as 12 in flower and its perfect IMO

• Like Like x 2
  5. Yes, I was not impressed at 24, 18 and things started to kick in. Probably set to 18 let them grow to 12 and reset, as long as you are covering the area. I'm only trying to cover 1 plant with a 135, but my plants get 2x2 (or I try to contain them to 2x2) so I'll have to check what the optimum distance is to cover 2x2. I'm guessing 18.

• Like Like x 1
  6. I feel like they haven't updated it from reviews . Anyone I've talked to is always lower or as low as 18 . I also cover a 2x2 with a 135 and those distances have been perfect for me