Hiya, New 43-Yr.-Old Toker Here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by oldertoker, Jun 19, 2013.

1. Hi everybody. I'm 43 years old and I started smoking about a month ago. I'm a professional in the media industry.

I tried the herb in college but it never "did" anything for me that alcohol couldn't. Recently though, stress at home and work has become a real nightmarish problem. I got tired of the daily drinking, upping my anti-depressants and justifying to my doc why I needed benzo's. So, knowing that my stepdaughter smokes, I asked her to hook me up. Since then, I've been smoking 3-4 times a week, and my life is better for it.

Kind of funny....in my younger days I was convinced that pot was evil (Catholic upbringing, very conservative). I remember giving people shit for smoking. Boy have things changed. I owe some apologies. But we're all products of our environment, and mine was harshly anti-pot throughout my childhood. Now I'm old and wise enough to see the lies and the hypocrisy that was fed to me by just about everybody in authority. Fuck.

I'm hoping to connect with some other older professionals who may be lurking here, who have discovered the herb a little later in life than most, to share experiences. God knows I'm the only person I know who's anything like me who tokes up.

Anyway, thanks for reading, and peace. I'm headed to the sun room to spark a smallish bowl.

2. #2 ICGreen, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2013
    Hi there young fella. Welcome to the City.
    I discovered it early on but, after 7 or 8 years of responsible toking, I had to take a break for 17 years (career risk). Been toking again since 99.
    It truely can be a great asset.
    Venture around and check out some of the forum offerings. You may enjoy some of the reading and prsonal stories in the medical section.
    Please take the time to review some of the stickies, especially the forum guidelines.